ApplePickers
* Login  * FAQ    * Search
It is currently Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:06 AM

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 1:18 AM 

I'm a simple guy, so living in an OSX world is driving me bat-turds. I am your typical non-geek Mac dumbbutt, who likes acquiring tons and tons of fonts for no apparent reason. Just to have them. Well I AM a graphic designer, so one day, I WILL make use of Zapf Hermione Gingold or Peaches en VapoRub Sans, I'm SURE of it. ;-)

But, you see, I am so perplexed and frustrated by all the places OSX has to put my fonts. They are dadgummed everywhere! in my home library folder, other library folders. Of course, then there are the ones still in my OS9 boot volume. Who knows where else they reside, I've yet had the patience or room on my calender to plumb the depths of Font Book and SEE where they all are.

I want some simple thing: a one-stop repository for ALL my fonts, like the good-ole days. Why would Unix hiccough at THAT?! So, I implore on those wiser & more experienced than I, where would be the best place to put them? My home's library folder?

And....rather than hunting them all down and hand carting them all there, is there a simple tool that would do the chore of tidying up all this guano for me? Now, I DON'T wanna be confused by creating sets and all that meticulous activation sort of gobbledygeek (first public usage of my new coinage). While I LOVE organization, I find suitcase, Font Reserve & Font Juggler have WAY more horsepower than I am seeking. I wanna maid, not a concierge.

Can y'all help?

Merry December,

oh, and Fishers

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:56 PM 

Rex,

I will leave your request for a font organization utility that does what you want to someone who deals with fonts on a daily basis. Since I don't have many fonts besides what Apple loads with OS X, font organization isn't at the top of my priority list.